Design can be good again


First things first, go and WATCH THIS VIDEO!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maybe you know this already, but the work of Dieter Rams is getting more exposure and being noticed by non-product designers more and more every day. His work and teachings are things I spent my college years and even after with, learning more with every thing I read…

His words are not to be taken lightly , neither can he be confused with other famous names in the design world… He does not say or do the irrelevant, the unnecessary, or the fantastic. He’s a designer with a collective experience that surpasses groups of young designers put together.

Just now his work is being published in a way it deserves. Later this month the amazing publisher Gestalten books is releasing Less and More The Design Ethos of Dieter Rams. It looks awesome, and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

What bothered me was that after these principle spread all over the internet, is the fact that I’ve had an idea of a poster in my head, even though it was a simple personal project, I never got around to finalizing it. But I did however post how I had those unfinished posters of the ten principles on the walls of both my room and the office.

Later I see that Bibliothèque an amazing design studio was commisioned by Vitsoe to do that poster for the ten principles, and it looks good, based on a very well-thought of grid, and photographs and color palette that really feel like dieter rams’ work. I liked it even though it made me hate my self for not doing my idea.

2 responses to “Design can be good again

  1. if u wanna embed a video cuz.. do this..

    that should work…

  2. and oh ya.. Dieter Rams is awesome! we talked about him in print class alot.. although i was always too busy doing motion and 3d work to pay any attention.. hehe

Leave a Reply

